I Am An Awesome Spirit Being

Image
 
 
I am an awesome spirit being of magnificent worth as a person (Christ in me: Galatians 2:20). 
 
I am deeply loved by God (Propitiation: 1 John 4:9-10).
 
I am fully pleasing to God (Justification: Romans 5:1).
 
I am totally accepted by God (Reconciliation: Colossians 1:21-22).
 
I am absolutely perfect like God (Regeneration: Hebrews 10:14) as a person in God’s sight. 
 
And when my person is expressed in my performance, the reflection takes on the hue, tone, and color of my personality. 
 
Therefore, I am dynamically and individually unique… 
 
There has never been another like me in the history of mankind, nor will there ever be. 
 
I am original, one of a kind, really somebody, and so are you!!! 
 
Four False Beliefs 
 
1. PERFORMANCE: I must be adequate, competent, and achieving in my performance in order to feel good about myself as a person. 
 
2. APPROVAL ADDICT: I must have the acceptance, respect, and approval from significant others, and not lose their acceptance, respect, and approval in order to feel good about myself as a person. 
 
3. BLAME GAME: I must be good, and anytime my behavior is bad I must feel bad about myself as a person in order to feel “cleared” and good about myself again. 
 
4. SHAME: I must be what I have always been to maintain what self-worth I’ve got because that’s just me. 
 
Performance, Approval, Blame Game and Shame 
 
PERFORMANCE says, “I must meet certain standards in order to feel good about myself.” 
Consequence of Behavior: FEAR OF FAILURE: Perfectionism; intensity about your own success; withdrawal from risk; manipulate others 
God’s Specific Solution: Because of JUSTIFICATION, we are completely forgiven and fully pleasing to God. We no longer have to fear failure. 
Results of God’s Solution: FREEDOM from fear of failures; Intensity about the right things; Christ and His Kingdom; love for Christ. 
 
APPROVAL says, “I must have the approval of certain others in order to feel good about myself.” 
Consequence of Behavior: FEAR OF REJECTION: Please others at any cost; sensitive to criticism; withdrawal to avoid disapproval 
God’s Specific Solution: Because of RECONCILIATION, we are totally ACCEPTED BY GOD. We no longer have to fear rejection. 
Results of God’s Solution: FREEDOM from fear of rejection; willingness to be open and vulnerable; able to relax around others; willing to take criticism; desire to please God no matter what others think. 
 
BLAME GAME says, “Those who fall are unworthy and deserve to be punished.” 
Consequences of Behavior: FEAR OF PUNISHMENT; punishing others, blaming others when you fail; dry spiritual life. 
God’s Specific Solution: Because of PROPITIATION, we are DEEPLY LOVED BY GOD. We no longer have to fear punishment or punish others. 
Results of God’s Solution: FREEDOM from fear of punishment; patience and kindness toward others; being quick to forgive; deep love for Christ. 
 
SHAME says, “I am what I am. I cannot change. I am hopeless.” 
Consequence of Behavior: FEAR OF THE FUTURE; inferiority feelings; destructive habits; hopelessness. 
God’s Specific Solution: Because of REGENERATION, we have been made brand NEW, COMPLETE IN CHRIST. We no longer need to experience the pain of shame. 
Results of God’s Solution: FREEDOM from fear of the future; CHRIST-CENTERED
SELF-CONFIDENCE; joy, courage, peace; desire to know Christ. 
 
Dedicated to all of humanity that is broken yet complete in Christ. Surrender to the work of the cross in your life! Galatians 2:20
Leave a Reply

