No Messes ~ No Miracles: Pain ~ The Voice Of God

Image
 
 
Pain is God’s megaphone to rouse a deaf world. ~ CS Lewis
 
I often ask myself and question why does God allow bad things to happen to good people? And how does PAIN work for the greater good?
 
It has become increasingly clear to me that in the midst of PAIN we learn to hear THE VOICE OF GOD. It is within that sacred place where we have been wounded, it becomes the inner sanctuary in which we hear HIM speak. It is there in the desert of hard knocks that we begin to understand this is not the tragedy. The tragedy is failing to hear what God is trying to say to us.
 
Hebrews 10:34 gives an account of the early Christians and their endurance: “Remember those earlier days after you received the light, when you stood your ground in a GREAT CONTEST IN THE FACE OF SUFFERING.”
 
The PAIN, the suffering for these believers was excruciating. They were publicly exposed to insults and persecution, stood side by side with those who were so treated, sympathized with those in prison and joyfully accepted the confiscation of their property. These trials drove them to their knees individually and collectively in prayer, to a place of being still enough to hear God’s VOICE and then stand firm in faith. Oh, how I long to hear his VOICE ~ do you?
 
I have to wonder, question.
 
Is this really where I want to be taken in order to hear his VOICE?
Am I spiritually prepared, ready to stand firm in that kind of battle?
 
In my flesh ~ I’d have to confess, NO!
 
But by the grace of God ~ YES!
 
Why? To put it simply, in order to hear his VOICE, it is most likely in the midst of a trial This is where I believe we learn to practically live faith out! It is because God loves us, he disciplines us.
 
We are so prone to wonder and go astray. If we allow it, hardship is the discipline that draws us back to God. If we embrace it, hardship will mature us. It will and does bring into focus what is really important, causes us to cry out and seek His VOICE. And in hearing His VOICE, his VOICE enables us to walk by faith victoriously.
 
Jesus is calling, come, walk with me, go deeper, embrace whatever the PAIN, trial or hardship ~ and hear God’s VOICE!
 
“Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I obey your word” … “It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.” ~ Psalm 119: 67, 71
 
Leave a Reply

