View From The Top ~ OM Africa ~ Kili 2012

Image
 
Image
 
Image
 
What we experienced on Kili …
 
Suria:
 
Just call me “Stella”
 
“Summiting Kilimanjaro is no mean feat! It is without a shadow of a doubt the most 
challenging physical adventure of my life. We climbed for eight hours (from 12 at night) 
to reach the edge of the crater at Gilman’s point. Gilman’s point 5685m; Stella point 
5756m; Uhuru Peak 5895m.”
 
Corné:
 
“What an amazing time with the Lord; physically it was very challenging and it is 
just Jesus getting you to the top! So glad that I know every step of suffering was 
for those women and children who have much more difficult mountains to climb in 
order to be free.”
 
Annelize:
 
“A mountain of a mountain! In Swahili Kilimanjaro means ‘difficult to climb’. Physically, spiritually and emotionally this is the most difficult thing I have ever done. It is just 
my prayers and speaking in tongues, which got me to Uhuru. The moment I stopped 
praying I couldn’t breathe. It was an unbelievable time with the Lord. I will never 
forget it!”
 
Hettie: 
 
“I bought a wrist band saying ‘pole pole’ (slowly slowly). Right now I have it on and 
I think I am going to try always wearing it. This is what the mountain has taught me. 
I learnt to never attempt a mountain or huge feat like this without filling up well 
(with water – even more than they told us; with Diamox etc.). I walked VERY slowly, 
was even the last of the 48 women for a whole day. In this way I was able to summit 
Uhuru even after two days of diarrhea and very little sleep. For me it was a personal 
victory that I was able to finish well (not start off sprinting and end crawling), and 
even, though physically challenged, did not ever give in to cattiness!”
 
Elmarie:
 
“The mountain has changed many things. Nobody will ever be the same again. 
Everyone left something else there. Everyone received much more, so much more, 
in return. Hearts were sorted out, legs were tested and prayers answered – and 
impossibilities disappeared when a woman and her God stood before a mountain.”
 
Rachel:
 
“For me being on the mountain was challenging but also life-changing. Once I felt 
like giving up, but then God opened my eyes again: ‘Hey, you are doing this for just 
a day, but these people in slavery, they do it every day and have no hope.’ And that 
just gave me courage to go on, especially when I was reminded of my own life, and 
I thanked God that I made it.”
 
Esmarie:
 
“What an honor to ascend Kilimanjaro in the company of 47 extraordinary women. I 
am so thankful and privileged. Thanks to the mountain, fellow climbers, our prayer 
team, all my supporters and God for this humbling experience. I did it for the men – 
those whoare enslaved to sex and exploit innocent women and children to feed their 
addiction – may they come to know our King Jesus who came to set the captives free. 
UHURU!!”
 
Denise:
 
“They don’t call it ‘Killi” for nothing! I’ve had an amazing journey with God and eleven 
other women (my small team) from around the world. The prayer I prayed before I 
came on the journey was that every step I was able to take would in faith see one 
person physically, spiritually and emotionally set free from trafficking and slavery . . . 
and that was what kept me going although I didn’t physically summit Kilimanjaro, the 
journey with God and seeing His glorious creation in the mountain landscapes and the 
other women around me achieving amazing personal and emotional summits was a blessing beyond words. I’m excited and ready to see what God has in store for each of us next after the Climb and seeing the completion of this dream and vision of modern day slavery and trafficking eradicated forever around the world.”
 
Cynthia:
 
“Climbing Kilimanjaro at age 62 must be one of the most difficult physical challenges of 
my life. It was six days of long walks in changeable weather – from hot sunshine through 
to icy wind, rain, mist and stinging hail. But it was “well with my soul” as I was aware of 
the Lord being my strong Shepherd and His constant Presence gave me assurance and 
peace in my spirit. I know that faithful praying friends were holding me up to the Lord 
and I just knew that with the Lord’s help “I can do this”. I enjoyed seeing the variety 
and intricacy of God’s creation as we ascended through the different types of vegetation, from lush rainforest to ferns and delicate and colorful, and then to cactus and rocks and barrenness, then snow. We enjoyed conversations along the way and songs of praise.
Along with our wonderful guides and porters we learned the Kilimanjaro song in Swahili with “hakuna matata”, meaning “no problem, don’t worry!” On the summit night and following day we were awake and walking for almost 24 hours. Only God could help me do that. He enabled me to reach the Uhuru Summit of Kilimanjaro (5895m altitude). He enabled me to make the excruciating descent with the help of my amazing local Tanzanian guide and my porter, Hallelujah! Through all this I identify with the steep and long and endless physical challenges of those in slavery and pray that God will intervene and set them free and give them His hope.”
 
Leave a Reply

