Mt. Kilimanjaro Post Climb: Nancy Byrne

 

Image

 
Freedom Climbers 
Post climb at the border between Tanzania and Kenya, Africa
January 17, 2012

2 Corinthians 3:16-17 …
“But when one turns to the Lord, the veil is removed. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”
 

Dear Friends and Family,

One month ago from today, our nation, the United States of America celebrated the Human Trafficking Awareness Day and 10 prayer warriors, plus I, along with 47 women climbers and from around the world began our physical-spiritual-prayer ascent of Mt. Kilimanjaro on behalf of those who have no voice. With God’s strength, perfected only in our weakness, forty-three of the forty-eight women made it to one of the three summits on the rim of the crater (Gilman’s Point, Stella Point and/or Uhuru Peak). The African’s called it a miracle and have said it may be a record. I praise God and thank every one of you! You truly blessed me beyond comprehension when you provided the prayer support and financial donations that made it possible for me to go and climb victoriously! As I climbed, you climbed alongside proclaiming FREEDOM too!
 

Image

 
Nancy Byrne with the Pinkie Team at Uhuru Peak-Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/15/12
19,341

I have a magnet on my frig that says, “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” Well, it does, but I would change a few words and instead say … “A God adventure begins at the end of your comfort zone!” Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro certainly provided that opportunity, took me out of the box (again) into the God realm, a once in a lifetime “faith step” and risk-taking adventure! So … let me share a bit of that adventure with you! 

 Image
 
A TENT with a VIEW!

On the first day of the trek a painful sore emerged on the left side of my tongue and began to swell which impaired my ability to speak. Quite the dilemma since I was the designated leader of the pink team. It was also symbolic of what I had been called and raised up to be. First, a voice for those who have no voice and second, I needed a voice to best serve and encourage my team. It was a blatant, strategic spiritual attack as the battle raged in the heavenly realm (again). Not only did that occur, but also at the same time, three of my teammates experienced difficulties in breathing, lower back pain and a lost passport. So … the rest of my team gathered around, laid hands on the four of us and began to pray against the fiery darts the enemy had thrown to discourage and paralyze. Four direct answers to prayer happened at that very moment. The swelling of my tongue decreased and I was able to speak boldly, the breathing issue and back pain was gone for Cheryl and Ellenore and the passport was found within the hour for Denise. What else can I say … it was a marvelous God moment in provision, encouragement and healing that set the tone for the rest of the climb.

After four days of trekking, we finally arrived at the summit camp of Mt. Kilimanjaro, where we were instructed to sleep for a few hours (hardly), and then my team; the Pinkies (Pinky-African word for Pink) were the first to begin the final ascent at 12:30AM to Uhuru Peak. The rest of the teams (Green, Yellow and Red) would follow separately in increments of 30 minutes. It was a glorious moment filled with excitement but also a healthy dose of fear and respect for the mountain! It was a daunting journey … a grueling climb filled first with a series of steep switchbacks, accompanied by endless stretches of silence then interrupted with episodes of sounds and coming alongside women who were bent over and covered in vomit, helping those who struggled with tearing off layers of clothing then squatting with diarrhea, all groaning and some feverish, all spent and tired beyond reason, all breathless but breathing, some more hypoxic than others, all suffering and some dizzy, a few endured hallucinations but all afflicted with extreme weakness, a depletion in strength. With that said, we all personally felt God lift our feet up like hinds feet and place us on top of that mountain … for His purpose and glory! I now fully understand why we began our summit in the dark. There are simply some things that need to remain unseen until that perfect unveiling! God had his purpose in this. If I had visually seen what I was about to climb, I would have been tempted to turn around, felt inadequate and overwhelmed with no desire to make the effort (all climbers agreed). It was a beast of a mountain! Upon descent, we all came down a different route, a different way, which has become significant and a symbolic truth for all of us, including me. I began this climb fully focused to pray, engaged to proclaim freedom and renounce strongholds for those held captive, but it wasn’t long before God pointed his loving finger of conviction toward me. He gently said, “In order to proclaim freedom for others, you must first surrender any issue in your own life that holds you captive.” Wow … the truth is painful but always good. It was another precious God moment … worthy of the climb up to lay those burdens down! I did come down the mountain a different person, humbled and redressed in freedom, entrusted with a bolder voice, a deeper conviction and compassion, a responsibility to continue in the battle to speak up on behalf of those suffering in a world full of social injustice!

 
 Image
Trekking from Gilman’s Point to Stella Point!

To continue … and as I climbed, when it mentally got tough and as the deceiver delivered a fiery dart, the battle raged, but the LORD spoke loudly … 

 

Psalm 73:23-26 … “Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will receive me to glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

 

Philippians 4:13 … “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

 

As the pink team trekked, listening to porters, and as the guides sang their African songs to uplift our spirit, then reminding us to walk “pole” (Swahili for “slow”) … I would stop occasionally to look down, to gaze in awe as the green, yellow and red teams progressed upward with their headlights beaming on the mountain … it was a beautiful picture of what God was doing in and through us. We were His light shining forth in the night, enveloping the darkness. He was our rear guard, ushering in and speaking forth glory! It was symbolic of those trafficked and the night being most difficult, yet even in the midst of their present darkness, the light of His presence and furious love is there to embrace!

 

Isaiah 58:6-8 “Is not this the fast that I choose: to loose the bonds of wickedness, to undo the straps of the yoke, to let the oppressed go free, and to break every yoke? Is it not to share your bread with the hungry and bring the homeless poor into your house; 
when you see the naked, to cover him, and not to hide yourself from your own flesh? Then shall your light break forth like the dawn, and your healing shall spring up speedily; 
your righteousness shall go before you; the glory of the LORD shall be your rear guard.”

 
Image 
The Prayer Team 
Women of God who interceded on our behalf and for those in bondage 24/7!

When I reached Gilman’s Point, then Stella and began that final trek to Uhuru Peak, I hit the most challenging part. My strength was failing on several levels … emotionally, mentally and physically. Breathless, hypoxic and in dire need, God sent Eli (the Pinkie Team-Assistant Guide) to my aid. He was the perfect person. A Muslim, who had came to know Christ as his Savior and LORD along with his entire family at the age of fourteen. Praise God! Eli gently took my right arm and said, “Lets go, you can do this and I will help you.” This was a huge “God moment” for me … a divine appointment, a kiss literally sent from heaven, a very personal wash in His Presence! I felt Jesus came alongside and whisper, “I love you … you can do all things through ME because it is I who strengthens you!” He enabled me to walk those last few “faith steps” to Uhuru! I raised my hands in praise, cried a few tears in prayer, proclaimed freedom for those held captive while strongholds were broken … and then I made that hypoxic, “altitude brain” phone call to OM-USA. I cannot fully express in words what God did. He always has a bigger plan for me than what I expect or have for myself. 
 
 
 Image
STOP WHATEVER, PRESS IN and PUT ON those BIG GIRL PANTIES! 

I SAID, and those with NO VOICE HAVE SAID …

I CAN’T GO ON,

BUT JESUS SAID … I WILL CARRY YOU!

Isaiah 40:11: “He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead …”
 
I SAID, and those with NO VOICE HAVE SAID …
MY FLESH is WEAK and TIRED,
BUT JESUS SAID … I WILL GIVE YOU REST!
 
Psalm 73:26: My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.
 
Matthew 11:28: Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
 
Exodus 33:14: And he said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”
 
I SAID, and those with NO VOICE HAVE SAID …
THIS is INCREDIBLY HARD, IMPOSSIBLE,
BUT JESUS SAID … ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!
 
Matthew 19:26: But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”
 
I SAID, and those with NO VOICE HAVE SAID …
I AM not HUNGRY but STARVING,
BUT JESUS SAID … I AM THE BREAD OF LIFE!
 
John 6:35: Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.”
 
Lamentations 2:19: As each night watch begins, get up and cry out in prayer. Pour your heart out face-to-face with the Master. Lift high your hands. Beg for the lives of your children who are starving to death out on the streets.
 
I SAID, and those with NO VOICE HAVE SAID …
I AM THIRSTY and DEHYDRATED,
BUT JESUS SAID … I AM LIVING WATER!
 
Revelation 21:6: And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment.”
 
John 4:13-15: Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water, so that I will not be thirsty or have to come here to draw water.”
 
I SAID, and those with NO VOICE HAVE SAID …
I AM GOING TO PERISH,
BUT JESUS SAID … I WILL RAISE YOU UP!
 
Exodus 9:16: But for this purpose I have raised you up, to show you my power, so that my name may be proclaimed in all the earth.
 
Isaiah 58:11-13: The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail. Your people will rebuild the ancient ruins and will raise up the age-old foundations; you will be called Repairer of Broken Walls, Restorer of Streets with Dwellings.
 
Going forward … God is still unveiling his plan for me, though I will attend the Justice Conference in Portland, OR http://thejusticeconference.com/ with my tent-mate, Susan at the end of this month on behalf of the Freedom Climb. So, I covet your prayers! Also, there are plans in the works for a Freedom Climb Conference, Freedom Climb local and national event(s) and another Freedom Climb International climb in 2013 and onward. For information, check the website frequently for updates at http://thefreedomclimb.net/.  
 
Trekking for His Glory,
 
Nancy Byrne
2/11/12
Read Psalm 10!
PS: View Pictures Below …
 
 Image
Pinkie Team
First Day 
1/11/12
 Image
Georgia Girls
Mt. Kilimanjaro 
Sharon Scott, Nancy Byrne, Sue McCabe and Susan Woods
 
 Image
African Flower
 Image
Susan Kaspar and Nancy Byrne 
First Day Trekking – Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/11/12
 Image
Pinkie Team/Guides/Porters
Summit Camp – Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/14/12
 Image
Sunrise at the Rim of the Crater
The first of 3 Summits – Gilman’s Point
Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/15/12
 Image
Nancy Byrne
Gilman’s Point
Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/15/12
 Image
Pinkie Team 
Nancy, Denise, Cheryl, Klara, Susan, Esmarie and Lysa
Stella Point – 2nd Summit – Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/15/12
 Image
Glacier 
Stella Point to Uhuru Peak 
1/15/12
 Image
Nancy Byrne 
Mission Kilimanjaro and Kyle Maynard
Mt. Kilimanjaro 
1/15/12
Image 
Wildflowers
Mt. Kilimanjaro
My “57th” Birthday 
1/16/12
 Image
Marangu Gate
Sharon, Susan, Cindy, Nancy, Klara, Debbie, Danielle and Lysa 
(Ellenore, Denise, Cheryl and Esmarie not present but made it too)
Pinkie Team Rules
1/1612
A Wonderful Birthday Present
 Image
Kilimanjaro National Park
1/16/12
 Image
Faza and Nancy
Pinkie/Head Guide 
Tip Giving Celebration
Mt. Kilimanjaro
1/16/12

 

 Image
Nancy and Eli
God’s Blessing!

Chains To Freedom

By Nancy Byrne
 
Chains wrap around then a life becomes stained,
By those who are driven by greed no shame.
An endless bondage, the drama the game,
When a bold-faced lie has entrenched to claim.
 
Be still, because, in her midst freedom is here calling.
 
How does a child go from here to there,
Enslaved and screaming for a God who cares?
How does a woman turn listless, so cold,
While her heart feels numb, frozen, less bold?
 
Be still, because, in her midst freedom is here seeking.
 
How do you take her from there back to here,
To a place where she felt Jehovah once cared?
How does she move from skeptic to faith,
When her faith in the unseen feels weary, more fake?
 
Be still, because, in her midst freedom is there sensing.
 
Reminded quite often that her life is hard,
Believing God is faithful regardless the dealt card.
She chooses to press in diligent to stand firm,
Sensing her God in the midst of the storm.
 
Be still, because, in her midst freedom is there seeing.
 
Though faith and her God are often unseen,
She trusts, she knows, the unseen is really seen.
Her spiritual eye is more than able to see,
What God has promised is for her to believe.
 
Be still, because, in her midst freedom is there singing.
 
She trusts in God’s heart when his hand appears absent,
A trust in his glory to move and redeem.
She watches awaits because his ways prove higher,
Where God’s story unfolds, where in freedom she sings.
 
Composed by Nancy Byrne
Dedicated to those who have NO VOICE …
Commited to SPEAK UP on their behalf!

 
To the best of Kilimanjaro National Park knowledge and record,
 they have informed us (February 2012) that over the last 20 years,
 never has any large group of women ever attempted to conquer Mt. Kilimanjaro.


The National Park has said and I quote … 
“You are the first group of 48 ladies only to attemp to conquer Mt. Kilimanjaro as a group! You are the first group of 48 climbers to achieve a 90% success rate. Forty-three women hold certificates of proof that they have summited
Mt. Kilimanjaro on 15th of January 2012. 

Praise God! 
It was through a mighty wind of prayer that God lifted our feet up like hinds feet and placed us on top of Mt. Kilimanjaro and to be a voice for the voiceless! 
Leave a Reply

