Weak Places Made Strong

Image

 

“That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  ~ 2 Corinthians 12:10 (NLT)

The apostle Paul suffered with a “thorn in the flesh” and what that was exactly, we don’t know, but what we do know is that it was something he couldn’t fix on his own. When Paul prayed, God reminded him that his power was best manifest when he was at his limit.

Do you ever feel like you have reached your limit, when you have struggled to make sense of a crashing within, an unexpected life-altering circumstance or the weight of a broken relationship? Finding yourself sensing the grip of a tireless enemy who seeks to take you back to a place and speak “failure” or “you don’t measure up”, only to destroy, kill, create havoc and doubt of a loving, merciful and forgiving God? 
  
There was no mistake, the Apostle Paul experienced it firsthand and like Paul, I too have been at my weakest point. As a Christ-follower, I have wanted nothing more than all my loved ones to embrace, walk in the light of God’s truth as presented in the scriptures (Bible), and to experience an authentic freedom made available in Jesus Christ. The temptation for me, is taking on that unbearable burden. I find myself questioning, struggling, lacking peace … why is it so hard to trust God for the unseen work! Yet, in the middle of it, God continues to whisper his grace and says something different … that I don’t have to be the strong one all the time, and in reality, he is all but perfectly caring not only for them, but also for me. That in the beauty of God’s expression of unconditional love, and given to us, the freedom of choice, and because it is a choice, I can’t fix it.

Let me make something very clear. My strength is not found in my own abilities, determination or perception of it. Instead, I am strong because God has sustained me, and filled me with His grace to engage, remain faithful in the battle. Sometimes, people say, your faith is so real, so strong.” I can’t help but say, that I am far from having it all together and that what you see is a beautiful display of God’s grace, his love being poured out and over my weak places!

“When I am weak, then I am strong.” 

Leave a Reply

