I Don’t Find It Hard To Forgive

I don’t find it hard to forgive, LORD …
What’s hard is simply to forget;
When someone is truly sorry,
I think, “Yes, Yes, I forgive you.”
It’s such a relief …
just to have the estrangement over;
to be relieved of the awful pain of separation,
even mentally from someone I Iove.
In sheer self-protection …
I think I “forgive” but the memory stains;
remains deep, buried deep, inside me,
the deed or the word lives shattered within.
Then it rises …
sometimes to taunt me, to fracture the peace;
Why LORD? Why do these memories surface, linger,
Is it because I’ve forgiven for the wrong reason, a selfish decision?
Not with genuine compassion, love, charity for the other person …
his human frailties, but for myself;
Is it only for me, me, me,
because I can’t stand to be so hurt?
Help me to change, LORD …
create in me a pure heart;
enable me to forgive out of unconditional love,
rather than from a frantic desire to ease my own wounds.
Help me to forgive wholly, so fully …
in such a flood that there is no room for a nagging memory;
Thank you for teaching me to forgive your way,
That true forgiveness means forgetting, to be set free!

Luke 17:3-5 (English Standard Version) … “Pay attention to yourselves! If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him, and if he sins against you seven times in the day, and turns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.”

Micah 7:18-20 (English Standard Version) … “Who is a God like you, pardoning iniquity and passing over transgression for the remnant of his inheritance? He does not retain his anger forever, because he delights in steadfast love. He will again have compassion on us; he will tread our iniquities underfoot. You will cast all our sins into the depths of the sea. You will show faithfulness to Jacob and steadfast love to Abraham, as you have sworn to our fathers from the days of old.”
Composed several years ago. Revised on March 23, 2012.
Leave a Reply

