Love Well

Ana Smokowizc ~ North Georgia 2014

From God’s perspective,
Christ example on the Cross,
we are to love unconditionally even though others may not love us!

Now, that is hard!

From my vantage point, limited vision and resources, I realize even more now than before, I cannot in and of myself muster up this kind of love on a consistent basis. It’s foolish to think otherwise, and quite frankly, I fall short. In all honestly, we all do!

It’s easy to love, or think we love well when others love us back. Love’s true test… it’s when they don’t! When this occurs, I see my frailty, inadequacy, true nature more clearly and exposed for what it really is! I can no longer sink my head into the sands of denial or believe the lies that I am uniquely capable!

When God’s light penetrates, illuminates, I know it is for good, yet, I doesn’t always feel it! Personally, it leads me back to the Cross where it all makes sense, to the rest of the God’s story, resurrection!

Recognizing my need that God can do in me far more than I have to offer is GOOD NEWS. In reality, it’s all about surrender, not just in the once for all (though a best first step), but actually living it in the present, 24/7 being transparent to, dependent on trusting God to do in me what I can’t do… to be as Christ loved. Embracing, in fullness, the truth I am simply not able through my own human efforts, but made possible through re-birth, an ongoing work of the Spirit of God.

This is an undeserved mercy bestowed, grace unmerited.

It is receiving God’s unconditional love, poured over me, and allowing it’s spill to drench others.

I am reminded of a time when my hubby and I went on vacation in Mexico and we visited a famous cenote for a swim. For those of you who do not know what a cenote is, it is a natural swimming hole formed by the collapse of a porous limestone bedrock, which reveals a secret subterranean world of groundwater pools. It is stunning!

Swimming with all my senses, alerted, and being consumed and hearing the sounds and thundering, refreshment in viewing and seeing, smelling fresh air and tasting, encountering beauty and delighting, exhaling and coolness whispering, this inviting waterhole was more than I expected. What an awesome lift it was from the humidity which drained. The waterhole was a continuous splash and splashing, in being touched and touching, water-drops and falling, an enormous pool and surrounding, peaceful and cooling, invigorating and soaking, an invitation and into all it had to offer. It was more than amazing!

Isn’t it just like this with our soul. Life and loving, it often drains us. This is what it means to be human, but we do need strength to do life and love well! But, just like the waterhole, Christ is the one who invites and invigorates, consumes our inadequacies, infuses us to live and love well!

In thinking about it again, I am reminded it was in the surrendering I was consumed, where I found refreshment, resulting in what I found, experienced, would in turn refresh and reflect to others. And it does!

Oh, how God gives pictures, tangible experiences in how the Spirit of God works a re-direct, giving infusing power to love, clearly not from us, but Christ flowing within, spilling, conforming and being a blessing to others. A continuous spilling into those who may or may not love us! Confident of this, regardless, knowing it is in this beauty, His love impacts!

Truth is, we are only capable to fully love and well… because God first loved us!

Galatians 2:20-21: I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness were through the law, then Christ died for no purpose.

1 John 4:19: We love because he first loved us.

 

IMG_7913

 

 

Leave a Reply

