Teach Me

IMG_4437Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long. Remember your mercy, O Lord, and your steadfast love, for they have been from of old. Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O Lord! (Psalm 25:4-7)

Seventy-two psalms speak about enemies. That’s almost half of the book of Psalms. Enemies are defined as those who not only oppose us, but also God’s way of living. Our greatest of enemy of course is Satan and David knew this all to well!

David asked God to keep his enemies from overcoming him because they opposed what God stood for, and if his enemies succeeded, David feared that many would think that living for God was futile. David did not question his own faith, he knew God would triumph, but what he didn’t want is his enemies success to be an obstacle to the faith of others.

In the passage above David is praying expressing his desire for guidance. Psalm 119 also tells of the endless knowledge found in God’s Word concluding by reading the Bible and constantly learning from it, we too like David will gain wisdom to perceive God’s direction for our lives. Often we may feel tempted to demand answers from God, resist and learn from David’s example, ask for direction and be patient. When we are willing to seek God first, learn from his Word, and obey his commands, then we will receive specific guidance in God’s time.

My soul melts away for sorrow; strengthen me according to your word! (Psalm 119:28)

Leave a Reply

