Empty Cup

Empty CupBe still and know that I am God. (Psalm 46:10)

Empty Cup…

I desperately need to quiet my soul just as the Psalmist instructs, “Be still and know God.” It’s really not about me, but God, worshipping, though in doing so God gives! It just happens to produce refreshment, that life-giving pour. Silence, with God, is a treasure to behold! If I don’t meet with HIM all the cares of this world will surely invade.

How?

By allowing myself consistent space to be still, stillness becomes the catalyst by which the Spirit of God pursues and pushes, provides and fills, gives me rest and refreshment. The stillness, its blessing… God searches, enables, creates, redirects, blasts apart, eliminates the non-essentials and aligns my heart with His.

His peaceful calm then settles and reigns!

It’s about practicing HIS PRESENCE 24/7. Even in the chaos, that’s good. It reveals a greater dependence on HIM!

I like to read, write, it helps me process my thoughts and prayers, take every thought captive to the truth expressed in God’s Word (Bible).

I also like to bike, hike, swim in the ocean… it gets me out into nature, outside of myself to appreciate and worship and wonder around in God’s glorious playground, His creation!

Most of all, I love to listen to worship music! It is here midst this space, the stillness, God fills the Empty Cup and replenishes my soul.

For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete. (2 Corinthians 10:4-6)

Leave a Reply

