God, Be Merciful

Sunset At The Lake In Georgia

Photo: Nancy Byrne – Georgia Sunset

Truth4Today…

But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’ (Luke 17:13)

Thought4Today…

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”

Saying this simple prayer reminds me that I am very, very small. Only God has shoulders strong enough to carry the load, only God is big enough. I cannot do it and I don’t have to.

When I acknowledge my smallness, I tell myself the central, life-giving, core truth: smallness is a good thing, not a handicap. It is a gift, not a curse. When I let myself sink into that truth, I can let go of my unending quest for significance, for size. I welcome my truest self. I can touch that small girl inside, say soothing things to her, and turn her eyes to the bigness of the sky and the sea and the God who made them.

And in that moment, I am exactly the right size.

~ Diane Trautheit

Leave a Reply

