Light Bursts: A Circular Rainbow

circular-rainbow-gulf-of-mexico-september-16-2016

Light Bursts, A Circular Rainbow: Photo by Nancy Byrne

Thought4Today…

A circular rainbow emerged as I gazed upon the cloud infested sky upon takeoff from Atlanta to Cancun. As my hubby and I began our journey soaring over the Gulf of Mexico the picture posted here revealed a startling discovery, one I had not seen before. A brilliant sun, an explosion of rays in a rainbow circle suddenly appeared.

It was beyond breathtaking.

And the picture does not give it justice.

It’s so like God to reveal himself in the magnificent! And a wonderful reminder that in the midst of such chaos in our world today it is God who ultimately is in control. Once again I’m reminded it is Almighty God who shed the first light, is light, who evaporates the darkness that often clouds our souls.

And God said…

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. And God saw that the light was good. And God separated the light from the darkness. – Genesis 1:1-5

I find it interesting God separated the light from the darkness. And just as the earth was without form, void and darkness invaded, it also is symbolic of our human experience. The best part! The Spirit of God was hovering, always. And though life may take a twist and turn, appear dark and void, the LIGHT of His Presence flows and blasts the darkness away.

Packing up, selling our house of 23 years and moving from Georgia to Texas has been a huge step of faith, messy for sure, to say chaotic is really an understatement. Days quickly morphed into weeks and life goes on as we embrace this huge paradigm shift.

Oh how we need to be refreshed in the LIGHT of His PRESENCE!

Then this… a simple but complex rainbow, a circle of light shows up just as I look out my window. God, in His infinite wisdom and creative handiwork reminds of a promise he spoke long ago after the Genesis flood. And whispering into my soul He says once again I will not flood the earth with death’s darkness but instead flood and refresh your heart.

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” – Romans 8:12

Jesus said, “Come to me you who are weary and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

Rest. We all need rest. I need rest, therefore clinging to that promise too.

The truth is the LORD hovers and covers and does give rest. No matter what, God’s promise is everlasting, eternal, enfolding, surrounding, provisional, protecting, sheds light into what needs to be exposed. We only have to choose to embrace HIM.

I don’t understand His ways, and won’t pretend to do so, they are past finding out.

O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out! Romans 11:33

I also struggle with doubt. When (not if) I do, God calls me to trust what I know to be true. And though faith is meant to be simple, it’s complicated too. It requires believing in the unseen.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. – Hebrews 11:1

Sometimes I’m given a glimpse into the unseen and see, and though it passes it doesn’t mean the impact doesn’t make a difference, that it’s not true or relevant. And when I don’t see, I choose to trust God.

And just as the air I breathe is unseen, nonetheless, God may appear unseen but is ever present.

For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse. – Romans 1:20

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

