Words

Wyoming August 2016 LakeWORDS

If WORDS
   a THOUGHT
      like the crashing of a wave upon the ocean floor can betray the inner sanctuary of my pondering, wandering, a wayward heart…

Then PRAYER
   is the VEHICLE
      by which a sacred conversation begins and ultimately redeems.

It is an exchange, a process in which all the hidden things, and me hiding, become stripped and lie naked before His Throne of mercy. God does not find things REVEALED as I speak to Him. He knows, He is El Roi, the God who sees and knows all! My words or thoughts are not inspected or dissected for His own pleasure or judgment. This exchange between God and myself is his righteousness cleansing, a wave that surrounds and covers the endless sand, pebbles of thought and words that consume my mind and heart. It is the blood of Christ interceding before God the Father. It is taking every piercing thought captive. It is profound and complete, a conversation steeped in mystery beyond human comprehension. God speaks and is the filter, the REVEALER of my words and thoughts; then He gently, but through his grace, TRANSLATES them back to me.

💦

Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your breakers and your waves have gone over me. By day the LORD commands his steadfast love, and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life. (Psalm 42:7-8)

When You said, “Seek My face,” my heart said to You, “Your face, O LORD, I shall seek.” (Psalm 27:8)

Robert Robinson’s hymn, “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing”

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

Leave a Reply

