Surrender

Micah - The Walking Dead JailSURRENDER

Though a staged picture taken of my son at a “Walking Dead” set it prompts the need for SURRENDER to the ONE and ONLY who gives meaning to life, to be crucified with Christ.

The phrase “it is no longer I who live” from Galatians 2:20 does not mean that I have no personality of my own; it simply means that my own personal interests and goals no longer direct my life. Instead, “but Christ who lives in me” provides the direction, purpose and strength in all that I do. Truth is there is nothing good that dwells in me apart from Christ. The good news is the life I once lived in the flesh, a life that was self-centered, I now live by faith in the resurrected life in Christ that resides in me. The question is, does he dwell within you? For me the old way of life was crucified. I am no longer a slave to the sinful desires of the flesh. The power of sin is broken.

The Ten Commandments given to us in the Old Testament revealed an inability, incapability to fulfill perfectly, therefore pointed me to Christ. Why Christ? He fulfilled the requirement once and for all. He loved and gave himself up for me (and you). If I think I can fulfill the “good enough” requirement through enough “good works” then I have quite frankly slapped the face, the grace of God.

Have you?

In the same way that Christ’ blood washed away my sin, it is imperative that I (and you) surrender through the empowering work of the Spirit, and in obedience take every thought captive to obey Christ; to be on guard and very aware of the temptation to war in or by the flesh. The pattern of this world will not measure up, therefore by lining up what tickles my ears with the Word of God will ultimately destroy the arguments, opinions or philosophies that come against the knowledge of God.

✝️

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness were through the law, then Christ died for no purpose. (Galatians 2:20-21)

For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete. (2 Corinthians 10:4-6)

Leave a Reply

